changeIn life, there are big changes and small changes. I will be the first to admit that big changes scare me. The fear of the unknown can leave you asking yourself serious questions.

In some cases, it can be similar to going through the different stages of grief.

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Sound familiar? We all experience change at one point in time in our life. Change can be one of the more challenging obstacles we face, and is usually something many of us resist, avoid, or delay. You might second-guess yourself by wondering, “Was this a mistake?” “What if I had done it differently?” “What if I fail?”

Change can also be disguised as fear. Oh yes, this is true! You may be avoiding change because you are afraid of it. I have made just about every excuse in the book, so just ask me. I finally decided to jump in feet first, and trust me; I went through all the stages of grief in no particular order. I swear I would get through one stage and two days later it would happen again, the stages of grief reoccurring every time. To my surprise when I accepted the stage I was in, I never went back. It was my “ah ha” moment. The moment I realized that I am a better person for accepting this, and I can now follow my dreams.

What I have learned through this process is you realize how strong you are and the things you did not think you were capable of achieving, although you can actually achieve more than you realize. You learn that the things you were afraid of were just that, things. Things that hold you back and prevent you from reaching your potential. Life is about taking chances and not living with regret. Get the life you truly deserve. Now, step aside, because the only one in your way is YOU.

“Let go of the past and go for the future. Go confidently in the direction of your dream. Live the life you imagined.” -Henry David Thoreau

Kim Dickinson is an esteemed coach, speaker, and writer for Bryant Consultants. To contact Kim, send an email to